Peach Cobbler

I love summertime, for so many reasons. High on my list of summertime-loves is all the fruit that’s in season! Yum. And I adore peaches. A couple weeks back I made this peach cobbler; and we loved it!

I actually cut the recipe in half, because I only had 3 peaches on hand. (I know, not quite the 4 peaches that would officially be half the recipe, but who ever complained about having too much sweet goodness on top of their peaches? It came out just fine.)

I started by preheating the oven to 425F.

Once peeled and pitted, I cut my peaches up. Right on top of them I added 1/8c white sugar, 1/8c brown sugar, 1/8tsp cinnamon, 1/16tsp nutmeg (I just shaved about half as much nutmeg into the bowl as I saw cinnamon that was already there), 1/2tsp lemon juice, and 1tsp cornstarch.

…and a second view : )

I mixed it all together and placed it in the oven for 10 minutes.

With the first half of the cobbler taken care of, I proceed to mix together the second bowl of ingredients: 1/2c all-purpose flour, 1/8c white sugar, 1/8c brown sugar, 1/2tsp baking powder, and a 1/4tsp salt.

I cut 3tbsp of butter into these dry ingredients with a pastry knife.

Finally, I stirred 1/8c boiling water into this mixture and dropped it all by the spoonful on to the peaches, once they’d finished their 10 minutes in the oven. The last step before baking is to sprinkle the cobbler with 3tbsp white sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon (mix these together beforehand). Bake for about half an hour. The top should be golden!

Serving with ice cream is optional, but always preferable : ) Enjoy!

