The 23rd Psalm

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters.

He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake…

A meditation on this Word:

While chasing Abbie around in this small field behind our neighborhood a couple weeks back, I was reminded of the 23rd psalm. Abbie continually wanted to run on the sidewalk or wander into the pine straw and I kept drawing her back to the grass. “He makes me lie down in green pastures” {emphasis added}. It seems silly that the Lord would have to make us lie down in green pastures, who wouldn’t want to rest in such a pleasant place? And yet, like Abbie, we don’t know where it’s safest for us to run and play. But our Father most assuredly does : ) Even though another place may look more appealing and you might wish you were there, the Lord knows what and where is best for you and will lead you as you trust in Him : ) Be encouraged, fellow believer! This thought encouraged me as I continued to repeatedly make Abbie play where it was safe, though she made it know that the grass alone was not her first choice ; )

One thought on “The 23rd Psalm

Leave a Reply

